Glassboro Wildlife Management Area

Considering I’m going to be living in Glassboro for the next few months, I thought I would see what hiking trails are in the area.  The Glassboro Wildlife Management Area (WMA) is only 10-15 minutes from Rowan’s campus and has plenty to offer for those who love the outdoors.

The part I went to was called Scotland Run Park.  It had a playground area and picnic tables at one with the entrance on Whitney Avenue next to Wilson Lake.  A boat launching area and different paths off the road that is located on Fries Mill Rd, also on Wilson Lake. I went to the Fries Mill entrance second and looked around for about an hour.  To get a full scope of the different paths it has I will have to go back sometime soon (and I’ll give this post an update when I do).

part of map

Picture of a map in correlation to other sites.

The boat launch area is at the end of  the road, made of rocks, sand and dirt, that opens up into a corresponding parking lot.  There are two docks accessible from the parking area, one for fishing, with seats and railings, and the other next to the launch area.

Fishing Dock

Taken by my iPhone

picture of the lake

From the dock next to the boat launch

I found a path to the right when walking between the trees and parking area, back up from the launch area.  It wasn’t marked with any signs saying it was a trail, but started at the tree line between two square wooden poles placed parallel in the ground.  It was getting later so I didn’t go extremely far, but the path I took was mostly flat.  It was made of dirt and, at one point, some cement that lasted for a couple yards.  This would be good for someone looking for a long, but easy, trail.

According to the website: 

Open from dawn till dusk, the WMA contains 2,337 acres of land, made up of streams, ponds, and some cleared fields in low deciduous swamp forest.  It owned by NJ Department of Environmental Protection.  This time of year there are more hunters around so it is suggested to wear bright colors.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment